She Thought, Y Not?

Albert Einstein once said, “ I have no special talents, I am only passionately curious.” A blog for the curious creators, lovers, diyers, cooks, beauty junkies, and the young at heart.

Super Healthy Sunrise Smoothie

I admit it, I rarely get the recommended 5 servings of fruits and vegetables a day … it certainly isn’t easy – or it wasn’t …. until NOW!

I started making fruit smoothies and wow, I can now say that I’m getting much closer to the daily recommendations :). This is one of my favorites that will get you 2-3 servings of fruit. If you chose to make it with milk, it will meet one of your calcium requirements as well. Better yet, use greek yogurt and add in a serving of protein, score! It never fills me up for more than an hour or two, but it is a great mid-morning snack if you ask me! You may be someone who doesn’t need to eat as often, and if you don’t then this would make a great breakfast.

Healthy Sunrise Smoothie

Healthy Sunrise Smoothie

SERVINGS: 2

I usually drink both! You can save half in the freezer for later.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 orange
  • 1 banana (ripe)
  • 1/2 cup frozen pineapple
  • 1/3 c water or milk
  • Handful of ice cubes

ADD-INS:

  • 1/2 – 2/3 cup greek yogurt  – substitute for the water. May need to add a TBSP or 2 of water.
  • TBSP Flax seed (ground)
  • Scoop vanilla protein powder

Blend together until a frothy, thick shake forms. The longer you blend, the thicker it will be. Recent research shows that the thicker the shake, the more satisfying it is, leading you to eat less later on.  Frozen fruit will make for a thicker smoothie, so feel free to pre-freeze the banana!

2 comments on “Super Healthy Sunrise Smoothie

  1. Savannah Harrington
    June 17, 2014

    Hello! I’m new to smoothie making, could I add any greens to this, such as spinach?

    • taljeans89
      June 17, 2014

      Definitely!! I will oftentimes add at least a handful of spinach to my smoothies because you can’t taste it! It turns it green, but the taste is the same. Kale will make it bitter though, so I stick with spinach.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2013 by in Healthy, Recipe, Smoothie and tagged , , , , .
